1865 : Michigan Congressional Delegation Helps Pass the 13th Amendment

January 31, 2018 all-day

On January 31, 1865, the House of Representatives passed the Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, eradicating slavery in America for good.

There were six respresentatives from Michigan that day and all voted for the amendment:
MI 1st: Fernando Beaman (R)
MI 2nd: Charles Upson (R)
MI 3rd: John Longyear (R)
MI 4th: Francis Kellogg (R)
MI 5th: Augustus Baldwin (D)
MI 6th: John Driggs (R)

For more about each Congressman, see

Scott Bragg, “Here are the Representatives from Michigan who voted for the Thirteenth Amendment”, Night Train, January 31, 2015.