1948 : University of Michigan Wins First NCAA Hockey Championship

March 20, 2023 all-day

On March 20, 1948, the University of Michigan became the first NCAA hockey champs. In the first National Collegiate Athletic Association hockey championship — now called the Frozen Four — the University of Michigan, Dartmouth University, Colorado College and Boston College met at Colorado College. In the semifinals, Dartmouth eliminated Colorado College (8-4) and Michigan beat Boston College (5-4, in overtime). Dartmouth entered the final game with a record of 21-2: Michigan had a 19-2-1 record. After falling behind 4-2, Michigan buried a stunned Dartmouth, winning 8-4.

Source: Michigan History

Leave a Reply