1910 : Ty Cobb Wins Batting Title

October 18, 2018 all-day

On October 18, 1910, after much controversy, American League president Ban Johnson names Ty Cobb as the official batting champion. Johnson rules that Cobb should receive credit for his hit in a suspended game that wasn’t originally counted by league statisticians. A scandal had erupted when it became evident that the Browns had allowed Cleveland’s Nap Lajoie to collect a number of hits during the final days of the season, so that Cobb would not win the title and the automobile that would go to the winner. It’s Cobb’s fourth batting title.

Detroit Athletic Company Blog.

Leave a Reply